American Girl Doll Central

It's Christmas at AGDC!

An American Girl Doll Central Thanksgiving November 27, 2009

Filed under: All Dolls,Doll Fun,Holiday,It's Fall! — Madeline@AGDC @ 2:11 PM

“OK, everybody! Settle down, settle down! Everyone stand back!” Molly McIntire was trying to push off 8 excited girls off her. Molly was the leader of AGDC, and they decided that she should run the Thanksgiving Feast, as long as Addy helped her cook the food, since Addy was the best cook in the dollhouse. But since Molly was running the feast, everyone had questions and everyone quickly decided that she would them with buttoning their nice dresses or help them on their “Thankful” acrostic for school.

Lulu finally helped Molly line them up in a line. “Ok,” Molly began. “Today is Thanksgiving, and we are going to have a better one than we did last year. Don’t even make me remind you. Thank goodness Madeline didn’t have a blog back then, where she can show us to the world. No. This year’s will be inspirable. You here me?” The dolls nodded and raised their hand to their forehead in a salute. “Ma’am, yes, Ma’am.” Molly nodded. “Ok, then, recruits. Everyone dress in a nice outfit, a dress or skirt outfit. If you need help zipping or buttoning, go get Lulu. She’ll help you. Then I want everyone to retreat to the main doll dining hall, A.K.A. Madeline’s living room. Now everyone pledge.” The dolls nodded . “My country tis’ of thee, sweet land of liberty, of the I sing! Land where my father died, land of the pilgrim’s pride! From every mountain side, let freedom RING!”

When they got there, Molly and Addy cooked good food and decided to make a buffet of it so it would be easier and more organized to get everyone’s food.
Yum! But before anyone could get their food or eat, they gathered at the table.

Molly spoke. “Ok, is everyone here? Good job, recruits. Before we eat, let’s do devotions and have prayer. Kathleen and Elsie, will you help us out?” The twins nodded, excited to take such responsiblity.

Kathleen began with a word from the Word.  She found a very nice verse for the occasion in Psalm. “Enter His gates with Thanksgiving,enter His courts with praise.”

Everyone bowed their heads and closed their eyes, and Elsie began to lead the prayer.

“Oh, Father in Heaven. Thank you for this day, for our friends and family, and I thank you for everyone in this room, O Lord. Thank you that we can come together today to feast on food you gave us. Please help us to remember that today is the day that we serve you and thank you. We thank you for sending your son and all you’ve done. Help us to remember that. Bless others with us. Guide us through the day and help us to be more like you. In Jesus name, and everybody said, ‘Amen'”

The dolls started down the line, each picking a piece of food from each plate.

From the back of the line.

All the dolls sat down and enjoyed an great feast!!! Then Elsie had a great idea.

“I know!” she said. “How about we all go around and say what we are thankful for? I will start. I am thankful for, as I said before, that Jesus died on the cross for our sins. God gave his only son for me. He died for me,a sinner! I think that is just something to praise the Lord for. Kit?”

“Um… I am thankful for my Molly and Lulu and all my big sisters. I love them all so much for protecting me. For loving me and making me food and tucking me in bed and caring for me. I am thankful for my mommy Madeline. I know some dolls aren’t as lucky as me. Their mommies sell them on ebay bare, cold, and messy-haired. But I have clothes, I am warm, and my hair is brushed and neat. All because of my mommy and great sisters.” Everyone went “Aww.” when they heard this.

Addy was next. ” I am thankful for freedom.  I am thankful that I am a freed girl and I know what it is like to be locked up and treated like a work animal. But now, I can fly and I am free and I live in a free nation. That is what I am thankful for.” Felicity was next. “I am thankful for ability. I have two legs and arms that help me run and play freely. I have eyes that see clearly, ears that hear delicate music and pounding, a mouth that will talk and eat food. My nose can catch and ring up thousands of different smells. Some children don’t have all of these abilities.

Molly started hers. “Like Kit, I am thankful for family and friends. I am in a grand home with humans and fellow dolls that love me and keep me safe. You all mean so much to me. And Madeline, she dresses me and feeds me food and does that most creative fashions in my hair.  I love her. And I love all of you. I love my family and friends, and that is what I am thankful for. Josie, you may go.” Josefina smiled. “I am thankful for color and creativity. I am thankful for a world I live in, where nobody is the same. Every country, city, and family have different traditions. When I step out of the house, I hear voices of children, see a blue sky and sunshine,  and smell great things. My friends and even family members are all different. I am also thankful for education, where I can grow up to be the woman I want to be, and I hope that God will guide me in my path.”

It was now Samantha’s turn to say what she was thankful for. “I am thankful that I have things I need when I need them. I have a bed when I am tired, food when I am hungry, medicine when I am sick, family and friends around me when I am lonely. I am never really needy. God has blessed me. I am also blessed with things I am not in need of, but I am fortunate with things I also want. I have games and toys and more clothes than ever when I only really need one outfit.  I am in a wonderful wold, and I praise God for it. Eva Grace, it is your turn.” Eva Grace smiled an sat up. “Well, OK.” she began. “I am very thankful for water and clean clothes and food. Not much people here realize that clean underwear and warm socks would be only a dream to some people in other countries. And the only water some kids every see is the dirty water with trash floating all in it. I am thankful for that everyday I wake up to brush my teeth in clean water. I can take baths in clean water. Drink it, water flowers with it, use it for pleasure and more. I am thankful for this wonderful home and all of you guys.”

Next it was Lulu’s turn. “Ok, first of all, let me say this has been a wonderful time with you guys from the day Madeline  took me out of that box. I love all of you. I am thankful for what we are eating right now.  A FEAST. A BIG, blown-out FEAST. And this is only a third of our meals each day. You know how much this would mean to a girl in Kenya, where I came from? They have to walk miles for a handful of dried rice. And that’s all they have for that day, everyday. But we all have more than a Kenyan girl could imagine in one plate. And we all have our own flavored refreshments. I am thankful for food and water.” Kathleen was last but not least for saying what she was thankful for. “I am thankful for everything. But I am thankful for you guys. We could be stranded in the middle of Africa or the streets in China and I would feel the exact same-happy, as long as I am with you girls. You mean the world to me. And my twin sister, Elsie. I love you so. I am also thankful for food, water, clean clothing, ability, creativity, education, family, friends, big sisters, freedom,  and salvation. Folks I could stand here all night naming things I am thankful for, thanks to you. Thanks.” Everyone cheered for everyone. This was a special time. “Ok,” Molly called cheerfully. “Let’s all get a family photo!”

TOP LEFT TO RIGHT: Josefina Montoyez, Eva Ward, Samantha Parkington, Lulu Kibwana,Kit Kitteredge, Felicity Merriman, Molly McIntire.
BOTTOM LEFT TO RIGHT: Kathleen Mackenzie, Addy Walker, Elsie Dinsmore

Funny Faces LOL!

Bounus Content:

My dolls are also thankful that they are able to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade! 🙂

Well, Thank you for reading! What are you thankful for? COMMENT AND RATE!

 

10 Responses to “An American Girl Doll Central Thanksgiving”

  1. Mackenzie Says:

    Hey!
    great post! eva grace is soooooo cute!

  2. Leanna Says:

    My dolls watched the Thanksgiving Dsy Parade.Their favorite part was when the giant Spongebob came.My dolls want to say hi to AGDC!:)

  3. Alexis Says:

    cool photo story

  4. AGlover Says:

    That was great! I loved it! Plus, I love the new layout of your blog!

  5. Alexis Says:

    I agree AGlover I . Oh yeah Madeline,also I got 2 or 3 more post!!!

    G2G,

    BYE!!!

  6. Madison Says:

    Very cute!!! I love it! Kit’s hat is VERY cute! 🙂

    Mads


Leave a Reply

