American Girl Doll Central

It's Christmas at AGDC!

Traveling Doll Mia- Part 2 October 25, 2009

Filed under: Doll Fun,Life Lessons,Mia,Molly — Madeline@AGDC @ 12:51 AM

Well, it’s time to see what’s happening with our friend Mia Moyer in Part 2 of “Traveling Doll Mia”!

IMG_1750Mia Moyer was sitting at the breakfast table just about ready to pour Cheerios, her favorite cereal. Mia was tired from all the action yesterday. She yawned deeply, content that she would be able to have a long nap today, after she ate and did her morning errands around the house.  Mia layed her head down on the table. She was also content when assuring herself that the next two days would go by quickly, and then she would get to go home at last. Mia had met wonderful new friends in a lovely house, but she was not enjoying this traveling thing that her owner Ally had set up for her. “How would SHE feel if I sent her away to a stranger’s house…” Mia muttered to herself. “Well…” she thought again. “I guess she wants me to have fun, that’s all.” Mia hardly noticed her cereal getting soggy  when Molly, her new friend and leader of the AGDC dolls, burst into the room. “Mia!” she called. “What do you need?” Mia asked. “Mia,” said Molly. “You need to get a sweater and skates on. I am going to take you to Thin Cruster Lake. You need to practice for your competition tomorrow!” Mia put down her spoon and gave Molly a hopeless look.  Mia was usually and happy and bubbly and nice girl, but this trip wasn’t working out for her, especially when her hostess thought up things that could never happen in a lifetime. “Molly,” Mia said. “Face the facts, here. You CAN’T get me ready for the competition.  This travel doll thing has cut me DAYS of practice off. If I went, which I can’t, I wouldn’t win at all, I’d be so bad.” Molly put a hand on Mia’s shoulder. “Mia, that’s exactly WHY we are going. To practice. So you can follow your dream of skating. To get your confidence back! But not to win. Mia, as long as you try your best, you’ll always be a winner, regardless of awards and prizes.” Mia almost had tears in her eyes. That was so beautiful to Mia. “OK.” she sniffed. “I’ll go because you are so sweet to me. For you and God. That’s why I’ll go.”

IMG_1752“MOLLY!!!!!!” Mia’s yell rang out in all of Thin Cruster Way.  Right there, ont he snow edge of the lake, was a horrible thing. It was a sign that showed Mia’s picture and said, “MIA MOYER WILL BE STARRING IN THE LUCERENE GIRLS ICE ARENA COMPETITION! GET YOUR TICKETS NOW AND SEE THIS GIRL PREFORM!” Mia brought the sign over to Molly.

IMG_1753“LOOK AT IT! LOOK AT THIS HIDEOUS THING! DID YOU DO IT, MOLLY?” Mia raged. Her red hair seemed to catch fire. “IT SAYS THAT I WILL BE PREFORMING AT THE COMPETITION! IT SAYS, “BRAVO, MIA” WHICH MEANS PEOPLE WANT TO ME TO PREFORM THERE SO MUCH THAT THEY ARE ALREADY CHEERING FOR ME!!!!” Mia screamed. Molly told her to stop. “Calm down, Mia!” Molly said. “That’s just one of Madeline’s books. She probably left it here on accident. It says ‘Bravo, Mia’  because that’s the title of the book. AND it’s about the human-being Mia, not the doll. So chill out! Stop thinking about hot-dogs and more about cold-popsicles!” But Mia protested. “Buh..buh..but what about the thing that said I will be preforming at the-” Molly stopped her. “That was your imagination. See? It says, ‘Laurence Yep.’ That’s the author, not gossip news. See? God is with us, so nothing will hurt us. It’s fine. So show me your ice skating moves! I know you’ll do good.

IMG_1756 Move 1: Rotate and spin, strike a pose!
IMG_1757Move 2: Turn to the left right, take it back now yall!
IMG_1758 Move 3: Upright turn, slide in a row!
IMG_1759Move 4: One foot you know, makes a pro. To be a pro, it’s the way to go!
IMG_1761Move 5: A striking pose will know them on their toes!
IMG_1762Move 6: Lean back do a twister- “AHHHH!” Mia yelled. She had fallen. Failed. Ohhh, how this could get worse, to fall in front of- “Are you ok, Mia? Here, let me help you up.” Molly’s gentle voice and embrace surrounded Mia. What a great friend she had. “You think I am a good skater even though I fell on the easiest trick of all?” Mia asked. Molly smiled. “Of course. I used to think when I watched people on TV ice-skate, that falling is the test of a good skater. I thought people who failed were losers. But then, I fell. I was on a gymnastics competition show. It was me and this other girl on the balence beam.  And I lost. Came with it a great conciquence. A broken arm. But then the other girl came to help me. She didn’t care about winning. She wanted to help me, and she cared more about the loser finishing than herself winning. In fact, she helped me win first and claimed herself the last place. It changed my thoughts about winners and losers. The real winners are often the people in  last place. It depends on what kind of sport you are.” The girls sat down.

IMG_1763Mia’s head felt turned around after Molly’s lecture about good sportsmanship.  Wow. What a life lesson could be hid in these tiny photo stories.  “Molly,” Mia said. “You are the real winner today. If you were to skate like an Olympic Champion or not be able to stand up straight on these skates, you’d be the one to win in my eyes.” Molly smiled. “Well,  we’ll see who can really win a gold medal tomorrow at the competition. But you can’t go unless you practice! So drink some water and let’s see some more moves!!!

OTHER MIA STORIES AT YOUR LOCAL AGDC BLOG:
Traveling Doll Mia Part 1 — Now Available!
Traveling Doll Mia Part 3 — Coming Soon!

 

4 Responses to “Traveling Doll Mia- Part 2”

  1. Gabby Says:

    great story! can’t wait to find out what happens next!

  2. Leanna Says:

    Great job on the photostory.And Molly is a great friend.I hope
    Mia wins the competion.Good Luck!

  3. lucinda (luci) Says:

    your storys are so cute 🙂


Leave a Reply

