American Girl Doll Central

It's Christmas at AGDC!

Which Doll to Get? August 10, 2009

Filed under: Bitty Twins,Help!,Just Like You Dolls,Message from Madeline — Madeline@AGDC @ 2:26 PM

I know I said Molly’s Makeover would be today’s post, but i am having trouble uploading them on (this camera keeps messing up!!!)
So I am going to ask for your help. I have some doll ideas and I need your help to decide which one( s) to get next. She may be my last doll (10 is enough dolls, don’t you agree?)
so decide wisely!

F7425_main_1
Julie isn’t my BIG doll I’m thinking about, but I am really starting to like her. Possibly my historical doll pick.

F8898_main_1
This is a doll I always loved because she looks so much like my older sister when she was  10. So I would style her to be like my sister and give her a cool name.

F9198_sh_1
Why is this picture so small??? Nevermind. I know Bitty Twins might be a little babyish for me, but I am really starting to love them too, and a have a little brother and sister for my american girl dolls. I love them.

Or…. should I wait until next year to see how GOTY 2010 and 2011 turn out?

I love all these dolls but I can only get one or two more, so if you have any suggestions, please tell me.

 

48 Responses to “Which Doll to Get?”

  1. pioneerfan04 Says:

    I think you should….. hmmm… I think Julie would be great but if you can only get a few more then I think you might want to wait to see what GOTY 2010 and 2011 look like. 🙂

    • americangirldcentral Says:

      Yes, pioneerfan, i will think about that. I think I should get just one for a while, and maybe if I fall in love with some other doll, I could get her too.

  2. Lena Says:

    25 is such a pretty doll, I regret giving mine away. She has the silkiest hair, and can really fit into any time period (even Kaya’s). I think I’ll get another one.

    Wait till 2010, then make your choice. You may not like 2010 at all, then it’ll be easier to decide.

    • americangirldcentral Says:

      Well, I am going to American Girl Place for my birthday (probably, i hope) and i am not going to leave there without bringing a doll home. Hopefully, by that time, we will figure out who the 2010 doll will be like. But so far, I think I will get 25.

  3. Zoe Says:

    Get 25. She’s gorgeous. But just a warning, the dolls actually have shorter hair than shown in their pics. I realized this when I went to the AGP. Like an inch or so shorter!

  4. Georgia Says:

    I have Julie and I love her but 25 is very pretty. If you like her best, you should probably get her. I’ve always thought Bitty twins would be fun! I don’t think they’re babyish at all. 🙂

  5. Cara Says:

    You can never have enough AG dolls! Including my sister’s we have 11 AG dolls, 1 Hopscotch Hill doll (Made by the AG company, but, retired) and 2 mini dolls! We still need lots more beds and chairs and tables though. We have a couch, which pulls out as a bed (It was originally for humans!) a chair, a bed, and a coffee table! All of that furniture is not enough for 14 dolls!

    • americangirldcentral Says:

      Yes, i can never have enough, but I don’t know if I can take care of all of those girls!!! I will get as many as possible, though.
      I love all your dolls and their furniture! Do they have their own room? 🙂

  6. Leanna Says:

    I think you can take care of ALOT of dolls.I believe in
    you.(giggle:))And I think you should get 25#.Shes the one that REALLY looks like me.Execpt that my hair is a
    tad shorter.But Zoe is right.Its is shorter than the
    picture.But not alot.Just a little bit.Also the Bitty
    Twins are also cute to have as a little sisters and
    brothers.But really,you should wait intill 2010 for the
    girl of the year.Can I ask you a little question.(or
    maybe a big question.)I only have one doll,(not like you,you are so lucky to have alot of dolls,Im just a
    beginer)and my parnets decide to buy me only ONE more.
    Can you believe it!!:(And I’m having a hard time chooseing one.Theres new dolls.Historalcal dolls.
    Just like you dolls.Girl of the year dolls.Mia on Ebay.
    Banged dolls.Long haired dolls.Short haired dolls.
    Curly haired dolls.Sraight haired dolls.I can’t decied!
    ~Leanna~

    • americangirldcentral Says:

      I will have to think! Look really hard, find the doll’s personality if they have one, and pick about 8 dolls. Look at them really good, then come up with 5. Keep going down. If you can’t decide, ask your parents to pick one for you but don’t tell and surprise you. That is always fun! And, if your parents don’t want to get you another doll because AG is too much money, try fining some on ebay for less. But you should only do this if you are capable of cleaning the doll up a bit. You can’t find a new doll for less then $80.00, including shipping.

      TIP: It is always good to have a doll that has hair that is long and easy to brush and style. Addy and Kit have awesome personalities and are very pretty dolls, but if you enjoy styling hair, you shouldn’t hair her as your ONLY doll. What doll do you have now? Maybe if you told me I could give you more tips.

  7. Leanna Says:

    I have just like you 25.Shes really pretty.She also looks like me,too.But I want some others that don’t look
    like me,too.But I want more also to play school and have
    parties,you know;).Thanks for the advice.
    ~Leanna~

  8. Leanna Says:

    GUESS WHAT?!I JUST ORDERED GWEN!I’m so exited!But I’m
    renameing her to Ana.Gwen has a sweet and shy persionalty.Shes quiet and best friends with Crissa.
    Those are the reasons why I got Gwen.I mean Ana.I used
    your advice.It helped.My first 8 were Kirsten,Kit,Julie,
    Samantha,(if she wasn’t retired)replacement of Samantha
    was Gwen,Felicty,Nicki on EBay,and Mia on EBay.Then it
    was Nicki,Mia,Gwen,Kirsten,Kit.From there,it was SUPER
    hard to chose,so I just put them in a hat and ended up
    with Gwen.

  9. Leanna Says:

    Oops,I mean 7 not 8.

  10. Leanna Says:

    And if you go to AGP for your birthday,take lots of
    pictures!I hope to go there in November.Whens your
    birthday?

  11. Leanna Says:

    Gwen is going to come tommorre,hopefully.I can’t wait!

  12. kayla Says:

    i think you should get julie becuase i love here.or wait to see goty 2010.i heard on doll diaries that they think goty 2010 is african american

  13. Leanna Says:

    I’ll try to send a picture.My camrea needs charging,and I can’t
    find the charger!:(I’ve looked everywhere.Hopefully my mom can find a charger online somewhere.

    • americangirldcentral Says:

      That’s great! You are one of our biggest fans, so we need you in the gallery. If you want, you can give me the information now, (age, nickname or name, your dolls, and what you like to do) now and I can go ahead and put you in. Then, you can send me your picture some other time when you are ready. Have a nice day!

  14. Leanna Says:

    Sure,I’ll send in my information now,if you want.And I want to
    ask you something(Please don’t hate just because of my
    impaientness.I take it from my dad.)about your choice of
    doll picking,I know now its October and its almost your birthday time,right?Well,i’ve been thinking,I don’t know who is
    the girl of the 2010 will be.I mean not to get my nose into your
    business,I was just wondering.Wait a mintent,I just reread this
    comment and it doesn’t sound right.

    • americangirldcentral Says:

      It’s ok. I’m not sure exactly what you are asking….. Do you mean what doll I am going to be asking for? Well, if I do get a doll for my birthday, it will be the one I asked for, I think so. You will just have to wait and see! See if you can do some research on this blog and try to see which doll I am wanting to get next…. 🙂

  15. Rachel Says:

    I think you should wait and then if you don’t want those ones I would get the Just like you doll with the pink dress.

  16. this has nothing 2 do with this post,but i have some exciting news.
    first,this weekend me and my daddy are making a tire swing thats REALY COOL and my daddy made it up ALL BY HIMSELF!!!and we’re also making a wooden swing AND ONE IDENTICAL TO IT 4 MY DOLL!!!PLUS this summer we’re making my doll a house.sallyjoe says hi and goodnight.
    BYE!!!

  17. i’ll email you some pics of the tire swing and the wooden swings when there finished and in the late summer or fall.k bye!!! 🙂

  18. i meant i’ll also email u when the dollhouse is done in late summer or fall.bye!!! 🙂

  19. today theres a homeschool party.they are usualy every friday and now the pool is open!!!YAY!!!its gonna be SOO fun!!!also today is matthew(my brother)’s bday.hes turnin 13 and hes goin all “oh its a HUGE LEAP!!! i’m 13!!!TODAY!!!OHHH i’m 13 and ur not!!!”man it’s gettin anoying!!!can u tell him happy birthday or somthin like that?
    ohu know that new shreak movie?well,my cat oliver is fatter and fluffyer than puss n boots in that movie.i know,right?hes so fat!!!and fluffy!!!bye!!!

  20. hey!!! i just came back from the homeschool party.it was SOOO fun!!!bye maddie!!!

  21. Grace Says:

    I think you should never stop collecting dolls. If you like them, keep getting them! 🙂

    • Madeline@AGDC Says:

      Thanks! However, I don’t want to get MUCH more because one time at the Y there was an older african american girl and she had NEVER had a doll and she wanted to hold mine-she was like, 14 years old and she was poor. When I let her do my doll’s hair, she did it all wrong and ugly. But I kept it like that because I felt so bad for her. And we have a sponsor child from Indonesia, who says she loves dolls and wishes she could have more but her parents don’t have enough money. They don’t even have enough money to buy FOOD and CLOTHES and the things she really needs. That’s why we sponsor her. I think every girl should have a doll, and I don’t want to be the one who has 15 and knows people who don’t have enough money for one. I think I have enough, I just want maybe one or two more and that’s IT. But I won’t ever stop loving dolls.

  22. Grace Says:

    I get it, Madeline, and you should continue to sponsor her. I’m just saying. Remember stephenswodadancer? She has 34 dolls I think! And she’s sooo nice. All you can do is be thankful for your dolls. And continue sponsoring her. I know how you don’t wanna seem stuck up or rich or anything, but it’s your hobby. Just don’t brag about them or anything. Don’t worry, Jesus understands, it’s not like you are doing anything wrong getting more. 😀

  23. Grace Says:

    Maybe for every 2 or 3 dolls you get you could buy one for that girl or another one from a poor family 🙂

  24. Grace Says:

    What is your idea? 🙂 😕

    • Madeline@AGDC Says:

      Well, maybe we could start a charity thing. We could raise money to create out OWN LINE OF DOLLS and give them to poor girls in orphanages across the globe. We could also sell them in America. Every time an American buys a doll, that money benefits toward food, clothing, clean water, and the chance to learn about Jesus Christ. I know Karito Kids already has kind of like the charity thing, but I still like this idea!

    • Madeline@AGDC Says:

      It could be called “Dolls helping Girls” or just “Girls helping Girls” or “Jesus loves me” dolls.

  25. Grace Says:

    Wait not 😕 ! I meant ❓

  26. sarah Says:

    i c u decided on julie!!!good choice!

  27. kassie Says:

    That second doll on the list is my Eva grace


Leave a Reply

